National WIC Association

Sonny Perdue Confirmed as Agriculture Secretary

April 25, 2017

The Senate voted yesterday evening to confirm former Georgia Governor Sonny Perdue as Secretary of Agriculture. The vote was 87 to 11 with Senators Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Ron Wyden (D-OR), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Edward Markey (D-MA), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Jack Reed (D-RI), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), and Kamala Harris (D-CA) voting against the nomination. Perdue is the first agriculture secretary nominee in 31 years to receive even a single no vote from the floor. He is expected to be sworn in later today.